Component view in Apex 5.1

So I’m a dinosaur. I don’t care if I’m not one of the cool kids. I like component view, I started with component view, I’m comfortable in component view and I get the “flow” of component view.
Of course I’m using page designer, but when things get “buggy”, I switch in dinosaur-modus.

And than there is Apex 5.1….
Where is my component view?

First, there is Two pane mode
1_switch_to_two_pane
For me that is a big step in the right direction. I’m not always in the position to ask for a 24″ monitor for development. So, less is more in this case.
And look
2_two_pane_layout
Component view!

But it’s not the same. This Component View imposter doesn’t give me the original page for e.g. a region. It jumps to the right section of the page-designer.
Not fair! That’s cheating! …. given that it is also very handy and perhaps my new MO.

But look in the upper right corner.
3_goto_preferences
Here you can set some developer specific preferences, like

4_enable_component

This will change the original panel to
4_legacy_button

Legacy, deprecated, whatever. It’s still there.

Like I said, I will be using Two Pane Mode as default with component view as my prefered way of developing (it could be nice if I could set this somewhere in my preferences),
but it’s comforting to know I can still switch “back”.

6 thoughts on “Component view in Apex 5.1

Leave a Reply

